Happy New Year from Budapest

Happy New Year everyone! 2014 is here, hopefully bringing something good for all of us.
Felt the need to compile a short list of New Year resolutions, since 2014 promises to be a crazy difficult year for me, with the possibility of some MAJOR, life-altering changes.

1. STUDY HARDER THAN I’VE EVER STUDIED IN MY WHOLE LIFE

I know this is a book blog, and I’ll get to my book-related resolutions in a minute, but have to get the personal out of the way first. This July I supposedly graduate (God willing) from university and become a full-fledged adult (sort of). Next semester is my last, with the main focus on my thesis and the few remaining classes as well as remembering to hand in every piece of official paperwork necessary, on time AND filled-out right (already went through this once with my bachelor’s degree, it was a nightmare, stupid Bologna process ugh). Then hopefully getting accepted into the PhD program. That’s the ultimate goal this year.

2. GET MORE ORGANIZED WITH MY READING

One of the reasons I actually started this blog is to keep track of the books I’m reading. There’s no way I’m going to have the time to review properly everything I read, even if I really wanted to, but hopefully will have the chance to at least comment on/possibly recommend most of them.

3. TAKE BETTER CARE OF MY GOODREADS ACCOUNT/PARTICIPATE IN THE 2014 GOODREADS READING CHALLENGE

I’ve actually been on goodreads for 3 years now, registered way back when I first discovered the site, but I haven’t really used it for anything other than looking up books I wanted to read. No friends, no comments, no books on my bookshelves. Last month, before I started this blog, I rated a whole bunch of them, added future titles, and I’m hoping to keep it up.  And most importantly, remember to put what I’m currently reading on the currently-reading shelf, so I don’t get any more e-mails like this:

“Hi ReadAtAllHours,

Congratulations! You read 3 books this year! Take a look back at what you read in 2013.

Goodreads members reported reading almost 20 billion pages this year! Want to know how many pages you read? Or the longest book you tackled? You can find these fun facts and more on your stats page.


Here’s to making 2014 another great year of reading!

Best wishes,
The Goodreads Team”

Really, goodreads??? REALLY??? You sent me an e-mail to congratulate on reading THREE WHOLE BOOKS IN AN ENTIRE YEAR??? I know this is one of those mass e-mails they send out to everyone, and fine, but for an avid reader like me, it felt more like an insult than a congratulation. Just for the record, I read a lot more than 3 books in 2013, but since I immediately rated the ones I read before November, and never put them on my currently-reading shelf, it doesn’t count as this year. Lesson learned.

4. READ BOOKS AT LEAST IN THE SAME YEAR THEY WERE RELEASED

Unless a book was written by a favourite author, it’s a standalone title, or I don’t expect to be dying for the sequel, there’s next to no chance I will read it with everyone else. There are two reasons for this:

  • No time. That simple. I basically have no time to read every book I might be interested in close to the release date.
  • Cliffhangers annoy me. Honestly, if I can put off a book until the sequel, or the entire trilogy is released, I probably will. If I never started a series, I won’t spend way too much time I can’t actually afford on obsessing over what will happen next. I’ll try to work on this though. It’s getting really hard to avoid spoilers, and if I never read anything more current, I can never discuss anything with other people, which is kind of the point of the book blogging community, right? I won’t promise I’m reading every immediately, I don’t even want to, but being years behind everyone else on almost everything makes me feel like I’m missing out a lot.

5. TRY TO JUGGLE THE FIRST FOUR RESOLUTIONS AND NOT FAIL MISERABLY

Who am I kidding here? Study extra hard AND find time for organized reading? Really? Keep dreaming…

What are your resolutions this year?

2 thoughts on “Happy New Year from Budapest

Leave a reply

