Managing my TBR pile

I already mentioned trying to be a little more up to date on my reading in 2014 and that means I’m determined to tackle some past series which have been piling up on my reading list for what feels like forever. Here’s a list of books I am trying to finish in 2014:

1. Divergent trilogy by Veronica Roth

Divergent was one of those books I actually did read back in 2011 and really really loved. Then Insurgent came out and I kept postponing it for various reasons, then somehow Allegiant was already here and the whole ‘if we think about the ending long enough does it make sense or do we still hate it?’ thing happened and people were so disappointed that now I’m not nearly as eager to finish it. But I try to never leave any series unfinished unless I fiercely hate it (only happened twice so far) so I’m working up to it.

2. Legend trilogy by Marie Lu

I also read Legend in 2011, actually right after release date for once, and liked it plenty enough to continue. It had a lot of potential and I was very much looking forward to finding out more. I purposefully put off Prodigy after I found out the last book in the series is actually coming out in the same year, so I could read them back to back, and now I have no legitimate excuse why that hasn’t happened yet other than I’m not ready for it to end.

3. Benedicts trilogy by Joss Stirling

I don’t think this trilogy is as well-known as most of the others on this list, can’t even remember where I’ve heard about it. Joss Stirling is a British YA writer (we can never have enough of those) and these books are a mix of American and British with the settings and the characters. I very much want to read them.

4. The chemical garden trilogy by Lauren DeStefano

Put this series on the reading list after the first book, Wither came out. Heard many good things. Lack of time is the only reason I haven’t gotten around to it yet.

5. Blue bloods series by Melissa de la Cruz

I’ve read the first 5 books in this series, but it feels like forever ago, and I forgot a lot, so I’m planning on reading all 7 (ugh, that seems like a lot) of them this year.

6. Delirium trilogy by Lauren Oliver

I’m a total newbie with this one too, and I’m planning on starting it, but it’s going to take some courage.  The ending of this trilogy seems to have been an another general disappointment even before Allegiant happened, but I’m intrigued and masochistic enough to still give it a try.

7. The iron fey series by Julie Kagawa

OK, so I have no feelings about this one whatsoever, and to be honest, faeries aren’t high on my list of favourite supernatural beings, but I’m sick and tired of seeing this series literally EVERYWHERE, so I’ll at least check the first book out.

8. Fallen series by Lauren Kate

Oh, dear. I think I’ve been putting this one off since the first book came out in 2009. Now it just annoys me that it’s piling up at home. I honestly can’t even remember why I wanted to read it in the first place.

9. Unearthly trilogy by Cynthia Hand

I’ve read Unearthly back in 2011 and liked it, but the sequel wasn’t that high on my reading list. I still want to finish it at some point though.

10. Shadow Falls series by C.C. Hunter

This series is fairly unknown to me, but people keep recommending it so I’ve put it on the list.

11. Matched trilogy by Ally Condie

The first book in this series came out around the time the Hunger Games trilogy concluded and dystopian novels started becoming really popular. It took me a while to warm up to these kinds of books, and I’ve read Matched with considerable delay. I really liked it though, so I definitely want to continue.

12. The diviners by Libba Bray

Ok, so technically this is a trilogy, but only the first book has been released back in 2012 with the sequel coming in 2014. I have to admit I haven’t read anything from Libba Bray yet. She’s very well-respected in the YA community, but she seems to be an acquired taste. I’ve been circling her books for quite some time, but couldn’t find one that I thought I would honestly like until The diviners. Hoping to read this one before the sequel comes out.

13. Healer trilogy by Maria V. Snyder

Confession #2: I haven’t read anything from Maria V. Snyder either (*hangs head in shame*) and I honestly don’t know why. Seriously need to remedy this as soon as possible, starting with the Healer trilogy.

14. Ironskin by Tina Connolly

This is probably another lesser known book (a first in a trilogy with the sequel already out) but I’ve been circling it since it’s release in late 2012. It’s a Jane Eyre retelling with fantasy elements. Reason I haven’t read it yet: JANE EYRE IS THE BEST. Seriously. DO NOT MESS WITH THIS STORY. There are quite a few retellings out there (I’ve only read Jane by April Lindner, that’s a modern-day YA adaptation), but I’m quite wary of them, because this story is just so dear to me. I’m not sure I could ever pick an all time favourite book, but it’s pretty close, along with the Christmas Carol and a bunch of other British classics like Vanity fair (I’ve never actually met anyone who liked that particular one, but I’m sticking by it).  DO NOT MESS WITH THESE BOOKS. It still has the potential to be a complete disaster but I honestly don’t think so, so let’s hope for the best.

15. Revenants trilogy by Amy Plum

Another I’ve-read-the-first-book-then-abandoned-it series I want to finish. I’m actually tackling this one first of all the books on the list (just finished rereading Die for me) so the fact that it’s #15 only means I forgot all about it until the last minute and was too lazy to put it higher and change all the other numbers.

16. Shatter me trilogy by Tahereh Mafi & The selection trilogy by Kiera Cass

I’m putting these two series together because they fall into the very-popular-series-I-just-don’t-get category. I’ll try to read them but they’re last on the list for a reason.
I read The selection after it was released because I didn’t expect to love it (and I didn’t) and I had all sorts of problems from the non-existent plot with virtually no action to the general annoyingness of America (the main character, not the country) but people really seem to like it and the hype went even more up after The elite came out. What am I missing here?
I read Shatter me a while ago because the premise seemed fairly unique and it’s so generally loved that I was sure I would love it just as much. Ugh. I really should know myself well enough by now to realise that I don’t work that way. I was still OK with Shatter me, even if not in love, and tentatively put Unravel me on the reading list. But I honestly don’t know. The dystopian plot never really grabbed me and there is also that messed up love triangle with Warner and Adam where apparently psycho Warner turns into everyone’s dream guy in book #2… Again, what am I missing here?

2 thoughts on “Managing my TBR pile

Leave a reply

