Waiting On Wednesday #6

waiting on wednesday

Hosted by: Breaking the Spine
Description: “Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly event that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

This week’s selection: Landry Park by Bethany Hagen

13479780Release date: February 4th 2014

Synopsis (from Goodreads):

Downton Abbey meets The Selection in this dystopian tale of love and betrayal.

In a fragmented future United States ruled by the lavish gentry, seventeen-year-old Madeline Landry dreams of going to the university. Unfortunately, gentry decorum and her domineering father won’t allow that. Madeline must marry, like a good Landry woman, and run the family estate. But her world is turned upside down when she discovers the devastating consequences her lifestyle is having on those less fortunate. As Madeline begins to question everything she has ever learned, she finds herself increasingly drawn to handsome, beguiling David Dana. Soon, rumors of war and rebellion start to spread, and Madeline finds herself and David at the center of it all. Ultimately, she must make a choice between duty – her family and the estate she loves dearly – and desire.

Why did I choose this?

I didn’t like The selection as much as most people, but compare anything to Downton Abbey and I’m in. Plus I’ve been slacking off on dystopian reads lately for some reason and it’s time to get back to the genre.

19 thoughts on “Waiting On Wednesday #6

  1. I love Downton Abbey, so I was sold almost immediately. This will be my first dystopian read, hopefully it will be a good one. It shipped early from the bookstore, so I’m excited to try it out this week hopefully. Here is my WoW.

  2. I really liked The Selection but don’t know much about Downtown Abbey. This does sound like a great read though! Nice pick!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog!

    P.S. I first read this as “Laundry Park” 😛

  3. I really like the Downton Abbey comparison. It draws me to the book. Though the mention of The Selection has the opposite effect… This sounds like it’s going to be handled better than The Selection though (hopefully with lots of stuff about the government and rebellion and not just focus on the romance/maybe love triangle if there is one which I really hope there isn’t)

  4. Oh, this sounds good! This is the first I’m seeing of this one — thanks so much for putting it on my radar, and thank you for stopping by. Happy Reading 🙂

  5. I’m excited about this one, too! I haven’t read The Selection, but I’m totally ready for anything that reminds me of Downton. Thanks for stopping by my WoW

  6. I have not read The Selection, but I know more or less what it’s about and I got to say that I love the idea of “Downton Abbey meets The Selection”. I’ll need to red a few reviews to make up my mind about buying this book, though.

Leave a reply

