In case of a zombie apocalypse

I was all set to write a couple more reviews today (they’re still coming soon, not to worry), but came across a post on my favourite Hungarian book blog and decided to do this instead. I’m labeling it as a discussion, because I would very much like to hear about other people’s dislikes in the comments, and if you want to, you can even do the whole post on your own blog, too.

We all have those books we wish we never read, right? The books you could stand to get rid of to make more shelf space for all your favourites? The books you’d sacrifice first in case of a natural disaster? Well, here I present 5 scenarios and the books that come to mind for me as the solution:

Scenario #1

You’re in a bookstore, just looking around to buy a book (or five) when the street outside is suddenly swarming with zombies and the only way to stop them from invading the store is to sacrifice a beloved and very popular book you personally hated. You have 2 minutes to run to a shelf and pick one to throw at them. Which book would you choose?

Whichever Twilight book  is closest. I will never be sorry enough that I own all 4 of these books in paperback, taking up space and gathering dust at home, because I don’t really have the heart to throw anything out. But if the zombies come, they can have them all.

Scenario #2

You just stepped out of a hair salon, looking even better than one of those supermodels in a shampoo commercial, and guess what happens? It starts raining of course. Then you suddenly remember you have the perfect book sequel in your purse to use as a substitute umbrella. Which book sequel would it be? (The sequel doesn’t have to be the second book in a series, it can be the third, fourth, etc., wherever you gave up.)

Blue moon by Alyson Noel. I don’t really like to give upon any series if I already read the first book and didn’t completely hate it, but Alyson Noel’s Immortal series falls into this category. I didn’t like the first book all that much, but the premise was just interesting enough to keep me going for one more, before I threw in the towel. By that point I hated everything about this series and just couldn’t take it anymore.

Scenario #3

You’re sitting in class and the teacher starts talking about a piece of literature that’s considered groundbreaking in history. You don’t agree, because you just can’t see what the big deal is. Which book/poem/play is you’re teacher talking about?

I’m giving multiple answers here. First, since the required reading in school was much heavier on Hungarian authors/poets than foreign ones for me, I choose The tragedy of man (Az ember tragediája) by Imre Madách. I don’t know if this means anything to anyone, but it’s pretty much the most basic  Hungarian play and the most popular. It’s considered amazing, and maybe it is, but I just couldn’t with this one. Second, I pick Eugene Onegin by Alexander Pushkin. I know, I know, classic piece of Russian literature, but despite my love for all other Russian novels I’ve read so far, I could barely get through this one. Maybe it would have been easier to read if it hadn’t been written in verse, but I doubt it, the format wasn’t really my problem.

Scenario #4

You’re in the library, thinking about how many more books you can borrow before reaching the limit, when the next ice age happens. Everything is destroyed outside, and the only way to survive is to start burning books. Which one would you start with? Bonus question (this is my addition): how readily would you do this? Burning books in a library is like the biggest sacrilege (very Fahrenheit 451) so it wouldn’t come easy to me, but I have to assume my sense of self-preservation would win out in the end.

Well, this is where I choose Shatter me by Tahereh Mafi. I haven’t exactly made a secret of my dislike for this series, and it feels like I’m the only one, but this is my list, so it’s going on it. I have many angry feels about psychotic/borderline cruel/selfish love interests teenage girls and even grown women (*khm*50 shades of grey*khm*) go crazy over for one reason or another and Warner is prime example. Sorry, but no amount of sequels or novellas will redeem this particular character for me.

Scenario #5

You’re about to go on stage, and you’re really nervous. To calm yourself, you have all your favourite series piled up next to you. You’re reading, when your name is called. You want to throw away your chewing gum, but there’s no trash can in the vicinity, so you’re forced to stick it to a page in the last book of a beloved series. Which book would it be?

This is a hard one, because we’re talking favourites here, and I’m not sure how long it would have taken me think of this, but I saw it on Nancy’s list, and she’s kind of right. I’m picking Last sacrifice from the Vampire Academy series. Not just for Adrian-related reasons but for all the good people Rose’s escapades got hurt in one way or another: Adrian, Jill, Sydney and Eddie. I would probably have angry feels about this too, thank God for Bloodlines.

Which books would you choose? Do you agree with any of my choices? If not, why not? Feel free to sound off in the comments.

4 thoughts on “In case of a zombie apocalypse

  1. I totally agree with your choices for scenario 1 and 2!

    Aw man, don’t stick chewing gum to Dimitri!! It’s nit his fault Rose was a douche. Heh heh.

    Cool post amigo! X

    • I know, I know but then what favourite would it be? I’m pretty protective of all of them for one reason or another, and I had to pick something. But I’m open to alternatives if you have any. And I’m sensing a recurring theme here with your love of Dimitri, it seems to keep coming up lately! 🙂
      Just let’s hope Richelle Mead doesn’t pull a ‘Rose should have ended up with so and so’ 10 years from now.

Leave a reply

