Review: Cinder by Marissa Meyer – Get ready for the ball

cinderTitle: Cinder

Author: Marissa Meyer

Series: The Lunar chronicles #1

Genres: young adult, sci-fi, romance

Format: audiobook

Length: 10 hrs 6 min

Narrator: Rebecca Soler

My rating: 5 stars

Synopsis (from Goodreads):

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl.

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

REVIEW:

WHY OH WHY DID I WAIT THIS LONG TO START THIS SERIES??? *bangs head against the wall repeatedly*

I have only myself to blame. I’m usually allergic to overhyped books and I’ve learned to avoid them like the plague. If a series is loved by virtually everyone, like the Lunar chronicles seems to be, it’s safe to say I’ll be the one weird person who just doesn’t get what the big deal is. It happened most recently with the Shatter me series after Ignite me was released (I officially decided to give up on that series, I’m erasing it from my 2014 TBR list) and it will probably happen again in the future. WELL, NOT THIS TIME. This time, I’m not the weird one. For once, I get it. Phew. Rant over, let’s review.

All the things I liked:

  • Cinder. Cinder is already a total badass, and I look forward to watching her grow even more. I loved her to pieces, and her sarcastic attitude made me smile a lot. Also, knowing how to fix all sorts of mechanic things, like cars, is one of those superpowers I would secretly love to have, and I so appreciated seeing a teenage girl kick some serious ass and just being generally capable in this department.

“I’m sure I’ll feel much more grateful when I find a guy who thinks complex wiring in a girl is a turn-on.”

  • Prince Kai. OH MY. *insert major swooning here* I know there has been a lot of discussion about the guys we like to swoon over in YA books, and how everyone seems to love bad boys, and I can see your point. Who doesn’t love a bad boy every once in a while? (And by bad boy, I don’t mean a total jerk. I don’t go for those even in fiction.) The thing is, at least for me, this doesn’t seem to extend to real life. In real life, I know better. In real life, Prince Kai is exactly the kind of guy I’d like. Kind, smart, sweet, and just a little bit awkward. I pretty much loved him from the first moment he showed up:

Cinder launched up from her chair, nearly toppling over when she forgot about her missing limb. Steadying herself with both hands on the table, she managed an awkward bow. The retina display sank out of sight.
“Your Highness,” she stammered, head lowered, glad that he couldn’t see her empty ankle behind the tablecloth. The prince flinched and cast a glance over his shoulder before hunching toward her. “Maybe, um…”—he pulled his fingers across his lips—“on the Highness stuff?”

  • The romance. OH MY GOODNESS THE ROMANCE. I was grinning like a lunatic every time these two came anywhere near each other. Seriously. It’s a good thing I was listening to this particular audiobook at home, because I would have gotten plenty of weird looks on public transportation (that happens way too often already). Plus things build slowly between them, which is just fine with me.
  • Iko. Iko is the kind of sidekick who steals every scene she’s in. She’s adorable. Her comments about Kai were hilarious. Curious to see how her story will be developed.

“Maybe her programming was overwhelmed by Prince Kai’s uncanny hotness.”

  • Queen Levana. A villain I already love to hate. Her mind powers are freaky, and I suspect we haven’t seen the worst of her yet. The more despicable the villain, the more satisfying their downfall will be.
  • NO LOVE TRIANGLES. Thank you.
  • Shifting POVs. I know this annoys some people, but I happen to love being in more than one person’s head in a book, especially if it’s fantasy.
  • The ending. It has me immediately reaching for the next book, which is exactly how it should be.

All the things I didn’t like:

  • BIG FAT NOTHING. For once I can’t nitpick, and this almost never happens. Everything about this book worked for me, I have no complaints.

Now excuse me, while I go and get my paws on Scarlet ASAP.

Narration:

The audiobook version of this book is excellent. Rebecca Soler is a brand new narrator for me and she does an amazing job with all the voices. Looking forward to more of this in Scarlet.

5 thoughts on “Review: Cinder by Marissa Meyer – Get ready for the ball

  1. OMG FINALLY SOMEONE WHO DOESNT LIKE THE SHATTER ME SERIES EITHER!! AND KAI IS SO COOL. AND IKO. ok breathe in and out.

    Cinder was just the best really. It opens up the world really well and the characters are amazing, like you said. wait until you get to Cress and get the full force of characters 😀

    • Yes, I did get the feeling that Cinder only scratched the surface with both the characters and the plot. I just hope the other 2 couples will be similarly epic too! I keep hearing awesome things about Scarlet & Wolf, can’t wait to get started! 🙂

Leave a reply

