Review: Die for me by Amy Plum – Undercover SWAT team

9462812Title: Die for me

Author: Amy Plum

Series: Revenants #1

Genres: young adult, fantasy, romance

Format: audiobook

Length: 9 hrs 23 min

Narrator: Julia Whelan

My rating: 4 stars

Synopsis (from Goodreads):

In the City of Lights, two star-crossed lovers battle a fate that is destined to tear them apart again and again for eternity.

When Kate Mercier’s parents die in a tragic car accident, she leaves her life–and memories–behind to live with her grandparents in Paris. For Kate, the only way to survive her pain is escaping into the world of books and Parisian art. Until she meets Vincent.

Mysterious, charming, and devastatingly handsome, Vincent threatens to melt the ice around Kate’s guarded heart with just his smile. As she begins to fall in love with Vincent, Kate discovers that he’s a revenant–an undead being whose fate forces him to sacrifice himself over and over again to save the lives of others. Vincent and those like him are bound in a centuries-old war against a group of evil revenants who exist only to murder and betray. Kate soon realizes that if she follows her heart, she may never be safe again.

REVIEW:

I was initially avoiding starting this series (the synopsis just sounds a little too much like Twilight for me), but I eventually gave in and I’m so glad I did. I actually read the first book once already 2 years ago, but reread it recently to refresh things before I get around to the sequels. There’s a lot I liked about it, let’s see:

1. A very likeable and sensible heroine. The biggest strength of this book was definitely Kate for me. I pretty much loved everything about her. She’s strong, loyal and most importantly, her actions and reactions are realistic. She’s more mature than your average teenager, but considering she lost her parents before the beginning of the book, I think that makes sense. AND she has an appreciation for art without any actual talent. That’s how I am with literature, so there’s something to relate to there.

2. Excellent use of setting. A non-American setting is a huge bonus for me, simply because it’s done so rarely, and Die for me really excels here. Amy Plum actually lives in Paris, and let me tell you,  IT SHOWS. The city is used perfectly as a backdrop to the events taking place and I loved every second of it. There was everything from food and art galleries, to reading books in French cafes and the Eiffel tower. Paris is gorgeous, and the author’s admiration comes through loud and clear. Great stuff, seriously.

3. Georgia aka the best sister ever. I’m a sucker for protective and loyal siblings in YA books, and Georgia was everything I would want in a sister. She’s both hilarious and fiercely loyal, and her relationship with Kate was pretty much the best. They lean on each other after their parents’ death, there’s no petty bickering or jealousy here. I hope she gets a love interest of her own in future books.

4. Quirky, distinctive and loveable side characters. I often love the side characters in a book even more than I love the main ones, and Die for me has an awesome supporting cast. Everyone from Kate’s grandparents to Vincent’s ‘family members’ has a role to play, and I couldn’t pick a single one of them I wasn’t happy to see at any given time. Especially Gaspard. What can I say? I have a soft spot for the quiet ones.

5. No love triangle. Yep, I still loath love triangles. That’s never going to change.

This book is a great read. It’s not heavy on the action, and the body count isn’t high, but I was plenty invested in the characters to keep going. Vincent isn’t going to be my most memorable book boyfriend of all time (once again, just a tiny bit too nice for me), but he’s no douchebag, and he treats Kate well, which is pretty much the most important thing. Points for that.

There’s no cliffhanger ending that makes you want the sequel ASAP, but I’m very much looking forward to reading more.

Narration:

The audiobook version of this book is fantastic. Julia Whelan is my favourite YA narrator, another excellent performance here. I still don’t like accents (French here), but that’s my problem.

Leave a reply

