Review: Cress by Marissa Meyer – Satellite girl

13206828Title: Cress

Author: Marissa Meyer

Series: The Lunar chronicles #3

Genres: young adult, sci-fi, romance

Format: audiobook

Length: 15 hrs 44 min

Narrator: Rebecca Soler

My rating: 5 stars

Synopsis (from Goodreads):

In this third book in the Lunar Chronicles, Cinder and Captain Thorne are fugitives on the run, now with Scarlet and Wolf in tow. Together, they’re plotting to overthrow Queen Levana and her army.

Their best hope lies with Cress, a girl imprisoned on a satellite since childhood who’s only ever had her netscreens as company. All that screen time has made Cress an excellent hacker. Unfortunately, she’s just received orders from Levana to track down Cinder and her handsome accomplice.

When a daring rescue of Cress goes awry, the group is separated. Cress finally has her freedom, but it comes at a high price. Meanwhile, Queen Levana will let nothing prevent her marriage to Emperor Kai. Cress, Scarlet, and Cinder may not have signed up to save the world, but they may be the only hope the world has.

REVIEW:

NOTE: this review is spoiler free for the whole series.

HOW DOES MARISSA MEYER KEEP DOING THIS TO ME??? I’m back with another swoony review of what’s quickly becoming one of my favourite fantasy/sci-fi series of all time, The Lunar chronicles. Everything I adored about Cinder & Scarlet is still very much present in this book, and then some. This book has it all: swooning, humour, action and heartbreak. Oh, the heartbreak. Marissa Meyer ripped my fragile heart out and stomped on it several times by the end.

Cress is a very different heroine that Cinder and Scarlet. She’s more of a dreamer, and could be considered a little naive, but she’s by no means stupid or weak. Her compute hacking skills are really cool, and probably will come in handy a lot in the future. And Thorne!!! Awww. What can I say? I have a huge soft spot for the guy. I don’t love him as much as I love Kai, but still. He was mostly comic relief in Scarlet, but he’s tested more after a specific event this time around, and definitely grows a lot. The rest of the gang is still here (Iko!!!) and there’s progress there too. Queen Levana continues to be creepy and terrifying, an excellent example of a good villain. I honestly can’t wait to see how she ends in the last book. Hoping for a satisfying takedown. 🙂

And now onto something else. I don’t think I’ve mentioned this before, but one of the things I personally look for most in a good fantasy series is structure. Not just within one book, but the whole series. Harry Potter is obviously a good example for this, and so is anything Richelle Mead writes.  The reason so many series goes downhill for me (especially the more drawn out ones) is because after a point the authors have no idea where the story is going, and just keep writing filler books rehashing the same old, hoping readers won’t notice. Or they twist the storylines so much, that the whole thing turns into a bad soap opera. Marissa Meyer clearly put a lot of thought into the entire series before she ever wrote a single word, and it shows. The plot is tight and things are unraveling at a good pace. No boring or unnecessary parts here. This is a huge bonus point for me.

If I had to complain about something, it would be Jason. He’s a new character and he’s going to be princess Winter’s love interest. He didn’t impress me much so far, and I really hope he’ll improve in the next book.

The ending probably can’t be considered a truly major cliffhanger, but it leaves many things unresolved, and I’m so invested in the characters at this point, that I just want to get my hands Winter. 2015, hurry up already!

 Narration:

Excellent narration once again from Rebecca Soler. Her ‘Iko voice’ is my personal favourite.

2 thoughts on “Review: Cress by Marissa Meyer – Satellite girl

  1. It’s rare to come across a villain who’s really interesting but we get it in Lunar Chronicles. Queen Levana is definitely gonna end the series with a bang 😀 I was really excited to see more Kai in Cress though. Can’t wait to see how he develops in Winter! I’m always amazed by how Marissa Meyer can end on a not so exciting cliffhanger but still leave us wanting more.

    • Yes, I want to finally see Kai & Cinder work together as a team in Winter!!! 🙂
      Kai’s been isolated long enough, that was sometimes frustrating for me at times both in Scarlet & Cress.

Leave a reply

